A word on the Results of the Election

This morning I did something I haven’t done in awhile, I stood outside my balcony and I cried and I prayed for our country. I prayed that God would bring peace to people who legitimately are afraid for their lives and the lives of their families.

How do you explain to young impressionable children the things Donald Trump has said about women, Hispanics, Muslims, The LGBT community, African Americans, and Latinx? Are we to tell them he didn’t mean any of it, he was just trying to stand out, it’s just “locker room talk?” What does that teach children? That words have no value?

What does this mean for those of us who study the art of communication? Should professors stop teaching ethics and start teaching students how to play the game? Is tolerance and cultural understanding not important?

I will not hate our President regardless of all that he has said and all that he may do. I will be the example that I hoped a President would set. I will trust the legislative system put in place to ensure checks and balances.

My hope is that these four years we as a country will do a gut check. What will we teach children? How will we study communication? How will we teach ethics? How will we apply ethics and morals to our lives? We need to be conscious of our words because what we say is a direct reflection of what we value.

-Alexis Smith

Leave a Reply

