Black Friday at Akira: tasteless or a stroke of genius?

A couple of weeks ago I was strolling along State street in Chicago when I saw THIS advertisement for Black Friday.

akira

I did a double take, I stood there in shock, and then I whipped out my camera and took a picture. I couldn’t tell if I was disgusted that a company was promoting that kind of behavior or if I thought they had revolutionized Black Friday marketing.

A week after the incident I was still thinking about what I had seen (and staring at the picture on my phone every so often) so I decided to (google) investigate to see if anyone else was talking about it.

Much to my surprise, I found nothing through Google, nothing via hashtags on Tweetdeck, no one was talking about it. Surely I couldn’t be the only one who felt uneasy walking past this. I started to panic, this is like the Berenstein – Berenstain nightmare all over again. After I took a deep breath I decided to analyze the situation.

Akira’s target audience is women in their twenties who party, not families who spend all of Thanksgiving weekend together. It makes sense that their marketing would be geared towards their target audience.

Suddenly the world made sense again. Akira doesn’t hate families they just understand that twenty-year-olds need to escape all the political banter, the constant “why aren’t you married” questioning, or my favorite “what are you going to do with your communication degree?”

Akira may have revolutionized Black Friday marketing.

 

Leave a Reply

