4 things PR has taught me about relationships

Relationships are hard. I could probably end this blog right here and you would agree with me.

Thankfully the knowledge I have learned as a public relations major has taught me a thing or two about how to properly handle a relationship. I’m not just talking about romantic relationships. I’m talking about all relationships, those with your mom, friends, boss, even your dog (sometimes I think Minnie hates me).

Here are 4 things PR has taught me about relationships.

burn-bridges
Source
  1. Never burn bridges – I am notorious for this. If something goes wrong and both parties have decided we don’t want to fix it I will completely cut off contact from that person. This is something I don’t particularly like about myself and I’m actively trying to be better at it. The point is you can’t do this in PR. If you and a writer at the local newspaper get into it for whatever reason you can’t end that relationship with them because you need them to publish your stories. There are some people in this life you don’t want to be around – I get it trust me, but this is a small world. You don’t want to lose your dream job because you pretend your ex-boyfriend doesn’t exist. Not only that but sometimes you can patch relationships up which brings me to my next point

    communication
    source
  2. Communication is key- Β If you do not express your feelings when things upset you then how do you expect to move forward in any relationship? I am also notorious for not doing this, but PR has taught me that you have to ask for what you want. You want your press release to be covered on the news? You have to ask. You want sponsorship for your event? You have to ask. You want to be published on PR Daily? You have to ask.

    winwin
    source
  3. It’s a win-win for all involved- I hate to think of a relationship as a transaction but at a certain point it is. You give something (time, respect, love) and you get something in return (time, respect, love). PR life is the same way. PR people give their time and talents to the company they work for and they get a successful campaign, approval from the boss, and hopefully a salary. More importantly they get to change the world and there’s nothing more rewarding than that. Β facetoface
  4. Face to Face is Β best – How many times have you taken something someone has said out of context because it was communicated through a text message or an email? There is nothing better in relationships and in the PR world than face-to-face communication. You understand their body language, their tone, and you can read them better. If you are hiring clients for your agency you probably want to have a face-to-face conversation with them.I guarantee you the meeting will go much better than it would if you were on the phone.

Like I said relationships are hard but like PR work if you put in the effort it could be incredible.

Leave a Reply

